IASA Grants $25,000 in 2016 for Scholarships

With an increased Walt Mason Scholarship for 2016 at $5,000

DURHAM, N.C.–(BUSINESS WIRE)–Established in 2010, the IASA Scholarship Program demonstrates the
association’s commitment to aiding undergraduate college students
currently enrolled in a university with an insurance program, or in
pursuit of a career in insurance, and whose course of study includes
working toward a degree in Accounting, Finance, Information Technology,
Actuarial Science or Risk Management

Following a thorough evaluation process, IASA’s Scholarship Committee
selected fifteen talented young individuals to receive the association’s
2016 scholarships. All of the scholarship recipients have proven
dedicated not only to academic excellence, but to the betterment of
themselves, their campuses and their communities through service and

“The quality of the applications we received this year has been
amazing,” said Joe Pomilia, Executive Director of IASA. “All of our
scholarship recipients demonstrate great potential in leading and
shaping the next generation of the insurance industry. We are excited
that we get to be a part of the process by helping them achieve their

In 2016, IASA continued to expand the scholarship program thanks to
generous funding from IASA local chapters, companies and individuals who
feel it is important to make a quantifiable difference in the lives of
future industry leaders.
This year a total of $25,000 was awarded
and the Walt Mason Scholarship was increased from $2,500 to $5,000. The
IASA Scholarship Recipients are:

$5,000 Walt Mason Scholarship:

  • Albert Appouh, Rutgers University

$2,500 Scholarships:

  • Frederick Wright, Ohio State University
  • Jonah von der Embse, Ohio State University
  • Kate McCoy, Drake University
  • Matthew Pauszek , Butler University

$1,000 Scholarships:

  • Heba Raja, Temple University
  • Rachel Weber, Abilene Christian University
  • Adrienne Holzworth, Eastern Kentucky University
  • Brianna Saylor, Eastern Kentucky University
  • Eric Dynda, St. John’s University
  • Molly Peddicord, University of South Carolina
  • Laura Van Dyke, Olivet College
  • Marki Wilber, Olivet College
  • Jessica Oliva, St. John’s University
  • Nathan Noh, University of Southern California

This year’s recipients will be recognized during the IASA Annual
Educational Conference & Business Show, June 12- 15th, in
San Antonio, Texas. For more information about the IASA Scholarship
Program, or to donate to the 2017 IASA Scholarship Program, please
contact Karen Furtado at 978.239.2741, or, visit the IASA website at
and click on “Scholarship Program” in the main menu.

About IASA

The Insurance Accounting & Systems Association, Inc. (IASA) is a
non-profit, education association that strives to enhance the knowledge
of insurance industry professionals, and participants from similar
organizations closely allied with the insurance industry by facilitating
the exchange of ideas and information. IASA is one of the insurance
industry’s largest, and most well represented trade associations. IASA
membership includes insurance companies of all types (Property &
Casualty, Life, Health, Fraternal, HMO and others) as members, as well
as companies serving the insurance industry, regulators and also
organizations more broadly representative of the financial services
industry, including banks and investment brokerage firms. Learn more
about the IASA by visiting our website at
or by calling (919) 489-0991.


IASA Media Contact:
Kaitlyn Salguero
489-0991 ext. 210